One of the many ways that our community of families participates in making Morningside Montessori a great school is to volunteer to serve on our Board of Trustees, which works in a collaborative way with the Executive Director to guide school operations.

The Board of Trustees of Morningside Montessori School consists of twelve Trustees (including the Officers) who serve the board in a voting capacity.  Any additional Trustees may contribute to the board but may only serve in a non-voting capacity. Each Trustee is voted in and elected to serve a two-year term by the parents or guardians of children enrolled in Morningside Montessori School.

The Officers are elected by and from the members of the Board of Trustees and are made up of the following:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer

The Board of Trustees delegates the authority of the Director. The Board of Trustees also directs the affairs of Morningside Montessori School and confers on and determines the following matters:

  • Election of Officers
  • Appointment of Executive Director of the school and their compensation
  • The appointment of Interim Trustees
  • Any unusual or large expenditure of school funds
  • Financial Aid budget
  • Tuition
  • The investment of the Endowment and Surplus Funds of the school
  • The Rules and Regulations for the administration and conduct of the school
  • Other business as may be appropriate

The Board of Trustees meets once a month from September to June (inclusive).  Once a year, the Board of Trustees schedules an open Board of Trustees meeting, which is an opportunity for any parent or guardian of children enrolled in the school to hear more about the board's work and offer suggestions.

Board of Trustees 2017-2018


Sasha Nicholas, President

Peter Watt, Vice President

Bill Oleson, Secretary

Margaret Jones, Treasurer



Matthew Clavel

Sarah DeFeo

Zehra Dincer

Daniel Gimmel

Zachary Jacobs

Amy McInnis

Ben Moreno

Ted Murphy

Lisa Nagorny

Carla Patane

Jan Percival

Dan Saval

Sayuri Stabrowski

Wallis Tsai

Shari Verschell

Aaron Young